An experienced team with a proven track record.

Richard A. Miller, M.D.

Co-Founder, President and CEO

Dr. Miller was co-founder and CEO of Pharmacyclics where he led the initial discovery and development efforts for ibrutinib. Prior to that, he was a co-founder, Vice President and Director of IDEC (which merged to form Biogen IDEC, now Biogen), where he led research efforts on lymphoma culminating in the development of rituximab. He has also founded other private and public biotech companies. Dr. Miller received an M.D. from the State University of New York Medical School and is currently Adjunct Clinical Professor of Medicine (Oncology) at Stanford University Medical Center.

Joseph J. Buggy, Ph.D.

Founder and Strategic Advisor

Joseph J. Buggy, Ph.D. was with Pharmacyclics from 2006 to August 2013, where he was Vice President, Research from 2007 to August 2013, and served as project leader of the BTK inhibitor ibrutinib program. From 2001 to 2006, he was with Celera Genomics, where he served as Director in the Department of Biology, and, prior to that, Principal Scientist. Dr. Buggy holds a Ph.D. in Molecular, Cellular, and Development Biology from Indiana University and a B.S. in Microbiology from the University of Pittsburgh.

Leiv Lea


Mr. Lea served as the Chief Financial Officer of Pharmacyclics from 1998 to 2008. Mr. Lea received a Agricultural Economics from the University of California, Davis and an M.B.A. from the Anderson School at the University of California, Los Angeles.

William Ben Jones, Ph.D.

Vice President, Pharmaceutical Development

Dr. Jones was Director of Global Regulatory Affairs in Sanofi US’s oncology business unit from December 2012 to December 2014. From 2008 to March 2012, he was Director of Project Management & Regulatory at Pharmacyclics, where he played a principal role in the development of ibrutinib. Prior to Pharmacyclics, he was Associate Director of Development at Plexxikon, and was Senior Project Manager at Vertex Pharmaceuticals. Dr. Jones earned a B.S. and a Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Cincinnati and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Oxford.

Long Kwei, Ph.D.

Vice President, Biometrics

Dr. Kwei was Executive Director of Biostatistics at Pharmacyclics from November 2013 to July 2017. Prior to Pharmacyclics, he served as the Site Head of Biometrics at the Redwood City office for AbbVie, Abbott Labs, and PDL Biopharma before Abbott acquired the company. Prior to PDL Biopharma, he was the Executive Director of Biometrics at Tularik, then Amgen after Amgen’s acquisition of the company. From 1996 to 2001, he was with Roche, where he was the Site Head of Biometrics in Palo Alto. Dr. Kwei earned a Ph.D. in Biostatistics from the University of California, Berkeley.

Ginna G. Laport, M.D.

Vice President, Clinical Development

Dr. Laport was a faculty member in the Stanford University School of Medicine from 2001 to October 2015. Most recently, she was Professor of Medicine (Blood and Marrow Transplantation) where her research focused on adoptive immunotherapies for malignant diseases. From 1999 to 2001, Dr. Laport was Assistant Professor in Hematology/Oncology at the University of Pennsylvania. She served on the FDA Oncology Drug Advisory Committee (ODAC) and was national Chair of the NIH-sponsored Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinical Trials Network, where she directed multicenter clinical trials. Dr. Laport received an M.D. from the University of Texas and a B.A. in Psychology from Baylor University. She completed a residency in Internal Medicine and fellowship in Hematology/Oncology at The University of Chicago.

Ian McCaffery, Ph.D.

Vice President, Translational Sciences

Dr. McCaffery was Head and Associate Director, Companion Diagnostic Development at Genentech, Inc., supporting the Genentech and Roche portfolios in early- and late-stage clinical development across multiple therapeutic areas. Prior to that, Dr. McCaffery held various scientific positions at Amgen, Inc., including, most recently, Director of Medical Sciences and Oncology Biomarker. Earlier in his career, Dr. McCaffery held various scientific positions at Celera Genomics in oncology. Dr. McCaffery holds a Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from the University of Leeds, United Kingdom.

Erik Verner, Ph.D.

Vice President of Chemistry Research

Erik Verner, Ph.D. served as Director of Chemistry at Principia Biopharma from March 2011 to December 2014. Prior to that, Dr. Verner was with Pharmacyclics, Inc., where he served as Director of Chemistry from 2008 to February 2011 and principal scientist from 2006 to 2008. At Pharmacyclics, Dr. Vernerwas a co-inventor of ibrutinib and served as the lead chemist on the program. From 1996 to 2006, he served as a principal scientist at Axys Pharmaceuticals (formerly Arris Pharmaceuticals), a biotechnology company, and Celera Corporation, a subsidiary of Axys Pharmaceuticals. Dr. Verner holds a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from the University of Pittsburgh and a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Idaho.